the_gneech: (Kero asleep)
[personal profile] the_gneech
Well, you were all correct: McAfee is Teh Suckā„¢. I uninstalled it from my machine and suddenly everything ran beautifully. While I was at it I installed WinPatrol, RegCure, and AVG and made sure AdAware was up-to-date and chugging along nicely.

Then I went and bought a graphics card so big it has its own fan installed on it. Seriously. 0.o I better not need to upgrade that for a good five years. That enabled me to go ahead and run Neverwinter Nights II, which so far is certainly pretty to look at but storywise is a big "so what?" It reminds me more of Fable than anything else, which is okay but not my first choice. I've done the "farmboy saves the world" plot, I'd like something a little more original now, plskthx. Maybe I'll play with the toolset and do that Conan thing after all ... someday. ;)

Anyway, that's not the announcement of sorts; the announcement of sorts is that I expect to do a lot of cocooning this coming week. I'm going to be very busy at work, and I've got a lot on my plate in terms of things I need to do and things I want to do, so SJ will definitely be impacted (I know I'm not going to have a story strip tomorrow -- whether I'll have a Character Q&A is yet to be seen). NN is due to start up again on Tuesday, but a lot of that depends on whether Sue is finished with her cocooning yet. ;)

Hopefully this will only last a few days or maybe a week, and things will pick up again soon.

-The Gneech

PS: And no, I'm not going to spend a week up to my eyebrows in NWN 2 -- it's not interesting enough for that.

Date: 2006-11-26 06:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rhanlav.livejournal.com
McAfee is a pain in the ass to update with patches. I know the McAfee patch 10 for v8 was ok, patch 11 slowed the system down horribly and would occasionally crash a Dell Laptop, and patch 13 worked fine. Its weird like that. And trying to download them? Good luck. Grrrrr....

Thats why I hate McAfee at my second office. Trend Micro is much better. ^_^

Date: 2006-11-26 06:12 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] shockwave77598.livejournal.com
See you when you get back. Me, I like Norton. But Norton is getting worse and worse in quality so I think this will be the last I install it. I'll just run Systemworks from CD once a month to be sure everything is as it should be. Jerks can't even properly install their code in a virgin machine - that's unforgivable.

Date: 2006-11-26 09:08 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kamau-d-lyon.livejournal.com
I expect to do a lot of cocooning this coming week.

Yup, we all need to pull back at times just to re-coop and recharge our battery. Hope the week will allow you to do just that.

Date: 2006-11-26 09:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jamesbarrett.livejournal.com
I plan on cocooning this week, but that's because I don't have time anymore for anything that doesn't involve work, sleep, and lots and lots of writing. Mutti told me G'ma was going to be here Wednesday and I said I'd be spending that time muttering a lot. There will only be two days left then. -Frisk

Date: 2006-12-03 09:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elektron.livejournal.com
Then I went and bought a graphics card so big it has its own fan installed on it. Seriously. 0.o

That's tiny! When it's so big that the heatsink/fan takes up the next slot, then it's big...

April 2025

S M T W T F S
  1 2345
6789 101112
13141516171819
20 212223242526
27282930   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 11:32 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios