Standin' In the Driveway, Talkin'
Mar. 15th, 2008 01:44 pmOur neighbors across the street seem to consider a day wasted if they don't spend it standin' in the driveway, talkin'.
Doesn't matter if it's hot or cold, cloudy or clear -- as long as there isn't actually anything falling from the sky, they're out there. Standin' in the driveway, talkin' at night they consider a bonus, particularly if they can turn on their car engines and crank up the radio.
They don't turn on their car engines and crank up the radio during the day, mind you. Just at night. During the day, they just stand there. Talkin'.
I'd think there was a spousal mandate against smoking in the house so they come out to do that ... except they're not smoking. Nor are they drinking, playing ball or frisbee, or even mucking around on skateboards. They're just standin' in the driveway, talkin'. A lot.
Sometimes they bring guests over and the whole bunch of them stand in the driveway, talkin'. But most of the time it's just the two of them. For hours on end.
I don't get it.
-The Gneech
Doesn't matter if it's hot or cold, cloudy or clear -- as long as there isn't actually anything falling from the sky, they're out there. Standin' in the driveway, talkin' at night they consider a bonus, particularly if they can turn on their car engines and crank up the radio.
They don't turn on their car engines and crank up the radio during the day, mind you. Just at night. During the day, they just stand there. Talkin'.
I'd think there was a spousal mandate against smoking in the house so they come out to do that ... except they're not smoking. Nor are they drinking, playing ball or frisbee, or even mucking around on skateboards. They're just standin' in the driveway, talkin'. A lot.
Sometimes they bring guests over and the whole bunch of them stand in the driveway, talkin'. But most of the time it's just the two of them. For hours on end.
I don't get it.
-The Gneech
no subject
Date: 2008-03-15 06:29 pm (UTC)It is actually fascinating to listen to, and the history of your town/community is contained in the minds of these men who are forever rehashing the old stories.
If you get a chance, go over and introduce yourself and listen. Not only will you gain insight and knowledge, you will gain friends that will do anything for you at the drop of a hat.
If they are young-ish, they are jobless hoodlums and a blight on society. Stay away from them at all costs. ;)
Have a great day!
no subject
Date: 2008-03-15 06:34 pm (UTC)But hbar is on the button about this.
I haven't really seen people do that here but I remember our neighborhood in Oklahoma and base housing in Florida did that alot.
Heck I did with my little "gang" of friends in Florida. Either standing in a driveway or sit on the curb and just chat for hours before it got dark. It was weird though, somehow I was appointed "the leader" of my group and I was the only chick of the group. O-o
no subject
Date: 2008-03-15 07:00 pm (UTC)Thats what I think anyway!
no subject
Date: 2008-03-16 12:31 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-03-16 04:07 am (UTC)Dale: Yep.
Bill: Yep.
Boomhauer: Mmm-hmmm.
no subject
Date: 2008-03-16 05:37 am (UTC)