the_gneech: (Leonard machismo)
[personal profile] the_gneech
Was in various levels of funk late last week and all weekend, with the nadir being last night and this morning. Lack of sleep, work being annoying, stress and nuisance about the cats, etc. all conspired to make me retreat into LotRO, but when last night even that got more frustrating than fun, I had nowhere to escape to and had to admit that I felt like crap. (I also didn't get anything like the amount of drawing done that I wanted to over the weekend, for largely the same reasons.)

So this morning, in an attempt to break out of the tailspin, I cranked up the bouncy music playlist (including Uncle John, referenced in my last post) and more-or-less unconsciously went back and re-read The Suburban Jungle for the past year or so. (I say unconsciously because I started out just wanting to look at last week, then twenty minutes later realized I'd been clicking the "previous week" link over and over.) What I found is that there is some stuff in there that I am actually quite proud of, which was an odd sensation. :) I'm so used to feeling like I have to apologize for my art that when I come upon some that I actually like months later, it's always a welcome surprise.

By the time I was through with that, I buzzed around ArtSpots some, and picked up a bit more inspiration; now I'm all "ImaWannaDRAW!!!" I won't be able to do much more than a sketch over lunch until I get home, of course, but if I can hold onto this energy, maybe I can catch up tonight and make up for a wasted weekend. :) Let's hope!

-The Gneech

Date: 2009-03-09 04:19 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] usdutchkitty.livejournal.com
I've been the same way since I've been in the hospital and looking at deviantart all day. Especially The Lion King fanart. I just love drawing lions. Especially Vitani.

Date: 2009-03-09 04:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] daisho.livejournal.com
With the possible exception of direct paid commissions, there is never any need to apologise to others for your art. You create it for yourself, first and foremost. Whether or not others like it is very much a secondary concern.

That said, it's good you're feeling galvanised again now. :)

Date: 2009-03-09 06:19 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] punktiger.livejournal.com
Just out of curiosity, have you ever read the web comic, Yet Another Fantasy Gamer Comic? I trolled through about 3+ years of archives last night and I'm hooked on it.

Date: 2009-03-10 10:13 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] c-eagle.livejournal.com
That's a great inspirational place!

about your userpic

Date: 2009-03-11 07:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] palomalg.livejournal.com
I suppose you expect most of your readers are NOT from spanish-speaking countries.
I had to double check on wikipedia's english definition (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Machismo#In_Spanish_and_Portuguese) before posting an angry comment on your use of the word >machismo<;
Wasn't the word "macho" used to refer to >a prominently exhibited or excessive masculinity. As an attitude (...) personal sense of virility (...)< some years ago? that one never led to misunderstandings

Re: about your userpic

Date: 2009-03-11 07:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] the-gneech.livejournal.com
Heh. :) This icon is a reference to Leonard's use of the phrase way back in the early days of The Suburban Jungle in which he's basically saying "I'm a total stud." I wasn't aware until now that "machismo" might be taken other ways. (I've certainly never heard it used in anything but a comic/ironic way, myself.)

-The Gneech

April 2025

S M T W T F S
  1 2345
6789 101112
13141516171819
20 212223242526
27282930   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 09:41 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios