the_gneech: (Me DDR)
[personal profile] the_gneech
Tonight: 45 minutes of DDR. I'm amazed at how high our scores were, actually, considering that the back buttons don't work.

And now for some artwork!

Spiritwolf Makes a Sadface

One of the many ways that the Westin sucked was that on Sunday, when Vince, Himura, Lanny, Bauske, Confused00 and I all planned to workout in the Westin gym, I was foolish enough to assume that being "a guest of the guest" would be enough.

Not only was it not enough, but the guy snapped at me like I was trying to steal towels or something for daring to show up when I wasn't a hotel customer.

Keep in mind here, that they have day-pass rates -- which I didn't know at the time. He could have said, "That'll be $8 please." But no, he was too busy being a jerk about it. (Lanny also says that the weekend rates are supposed to be free -- which makes the guy's behavior even more bizarrely inexplicable.)

So, I get four apologies from people for getting turned away from a party I didn't even try to attend, but get my head snapped off by the Westin gym guy without even so much as an "I beg your pardon."

Life is weird.

Anyway, I felt bad about the whole thing, so I told Lanny I draw him a sketchie to make up for it.

-The Gneech

PS: Yes, I know, I could have lied and just said, "Yeah, sure, I have a room at the hotel." But (A) I don't like to do that kind of thing, and (B) it didn't even occur to me that I would need to! The Westin is supposed to be this swank hotel -- they've got no business not allowing people to bring guests to the gym. It's just cheesy. But I suppose after the "I'll fix your door when I get around to it" and the "you can't get there from here" stairwells, I should have just gone in assuming the worst.

Date: 2006-06-23 02:03 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bovil.livejournal.com
Westin hotels have very nice rooms, but I would hardly refer to them as swank hotels. There are some exceptions, old grand hotels like the St. Francis in San Francisco (now the Westin St. Francis), but some time stop by the Westin SFO. It's much like any other airport hotel.

Date: 2006-06-23 02:44 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] usagiweaver.livejournal.com
I read a post in bad_service about how horrible the Westin was during the con. The person posting had all sorts of problems with the room compounded by the staff giving her attitude.

Date: 2006-06-23 03:58 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] exatron.livejournal.com
I thought that would have been enough too, and hated seeing you guys get turned away. Did you at least get to work out at your hotel?

Date: 2006-06-23 11:43 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] the-gneech.livejournal.com
Whoa ... were you there and I completely missed it? 0.o

Honestly, I'm getting so ditzy.

Anyway, I don't know what Bauske and Confused00 did ... I ended up just rushing to get breakfast and to the dealer room as it was. But between all the stairs and carrying boxes to and from the dealer room over the course of the weekend, I got more than enough exercise. :)

-TG

Date: 2006-06-25 01:01 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] exatron.livejournal.com
It's not the first time people have failed to notice me. I'd better cut it out or [livejournal.com profile] invisiblewolf will get jealous.

With all of the lifting and carrying you had to do for the dealers room, you were probably better off without the gym.

April 2025

S M T W T F S
  1 2345
6789 101112
13141516171819
20 212223242526
27282930   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 03:49 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios