BroNYCon
So tonight,
lythandra will be seeing
Pirates of Penzance at Wolf Trap with my mum and various relatives my mum thinks we should know. Then tomorrow at Oh-Dark-Thirty I'm flying up to New York for BroNYCon, where I've been asked to be on the #TwitterPonies panel. I've got
a weird relationship with Bronydom... I don't identify with the fandom and don't really think of myself as part of it, even though I enjoy the show and will be seeing a lot of my friends from furry cons there. So it should be an interesting experience and I'm hoping for good things.
Brave
Tangentially-related to bronies,
Wired has a rant on their website today about
Brave, wherein the blogger is
butthurt that all the guys in the movie are dumb. Well, speaking as a guy, I agree that pop culture's current trend of "guys are self-centered children and women just roll their eyes and clean up after 'em" is annoying. But on the other hand, given all the crap that women get from pop culture all the time, whining about it just seems, well, self-centered and childish. I mean geeze, guys, when was the last time (for instance) you were stuffed in a refrigerator? I haven't seen
Brave yet (I will next weekend!), but somehow I bet that guys come off better there than any woman ever did in a Bond flick. Get over it, Wired.
Something Else With B?
I'll go with... "blather." :) This week I've sent drafts off for two of the June commissions (ping
dewhitton, please respond to your LJ inbox or shoot me an e-mail via thegneech@gmail.com) as well as dealing with a lot of logistical things that have just plain needed doing for some time.
RememberTheMilk has been a big help in this regard. I've also been noodling around with ideas for another comic project which, if it materializes, might salvage the best bits from
Arclight Adventures. I say "might," because it's all very much in the "doodle" stage right now. I have three sort of competing ideas in my head that, if they can't be synthesized, will end up with at least one being punted. The problem with being a "high idea flow" kind of creator (but a slow producer) is that I tend to get tired of an idea before I actually make any real progress on it, which eventually leads to frustration and makes it hard to get excited about anything. Must! Overcome! Neurosis! I miss accomplishing stuff.
Anyway! That's all for now. Have a good day, all you crazy disco guys'n'gals.
-The Gneech
no subject
Date: 2012-06-29 01:52 pm (UTC)My only worry would be if Pixar, known for great stories, is becoming infected with Disney methodology. That would be bad, for it was Pixar and its good stories that saved Disney and its design by committee culture. If anything, Pixar should be teaching Disney, not the other way around.
no subject
Date: 2012-06-29 04:37 pm (UTC)I agree it is terrible that men are being portrayed as man-children morons who smell and that depiction needs to stop just as much as a lot of the inane depictions of women but whinging about it over Brave is a bit much. I've seen Brave and its a good film. I won't spoiler it but I feel the depiction of the guys works as a vehicle for the story and Wired's beef seems a little too clutching of the pearls.
no subject
Date: 2012-06-29 04:49 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-06-30 12:56 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-06-30 05:47 pm (UTC)As for Brave... Indiana Jones was stuffed in a refrigerator and blown to kingdom come in The Kingdom of the Crystal Skull... ;)